Rock Hits
Muse Drop Defiant New Song ‘Compliance,’ Announce ‘Will of the People’ Album

Muse Drop Defiant New Song ‘Compliance,’ Announce ‘Will of the People’ Album

Bow down to the new overlords? Not quite yet, say Muse, who have released their latest single and video for "Compliance" while also announcing their Will of the People studio album.

As was tipped by singer Matt Bellamy early in the creative process for the new record, it was inspired by 2020's protests and chaos. The singer now elaborates, "Will of the People was created in Los Angeles and London and is influenced by the increasing uncertainty and instability in the world. A pandemic, new wars in Europe, massive protests and riots, an attempted insurrection, Western democracy wavering, rising authoritarianism, wildfires and natural disasters and the destabilization of the global order all informed Will of the People. It has been a worrying and scary time for all of us as the Western empire and the natural world, which have cradled us for so long are genuinely threatened. This album is a personal navigation through those fears and preparation for what comes next.”

In that spirit, Muse are issuing their latest single and Jeremi Durand-directed video for "Compliance" today. Much like their recent clip for "Won't Stand Down," it leans into the ideas of controlling the masses, offering an explosive video with a story told in reverse of a mass population becoming subservient but an eventual rebellion taking place. The clip was inspired by the film Looper, following three mask-wearing children destroying their future selves in order to escape their future oppression.

“‘Compliance’ is about submission to authoritarian rules and reassuring untruths to be accepted to an in-group. Gangs, governments, demagogues, social media algorithms and religions seduce us during times of vulnerability, creating arbitrary rules and distorted ideas for us to comply with," says Bellamy of the synth-heavy new track. "They sell us comforting myths, telling us only they can explain reality while simultaneously diminishing our freedom, autonomy and independent thought. We are not just coerced, we are herded, frightened and corralled to produce a daily ‘2 minutes of hate’ against an out-group of their choosing and to turn a blind eye to our own internal voice of reason and compassion. They just need our Compliance.”

Get a closer look at the video below.

Muse, "Compliance"

As for the Will of the People album, the 10-track set features the previously released "Won't Stand Down" and "Compliance." The album is now locked in for an Aug. 26 release through Warner Records. Pre-orders are available here. Check out the artwork and track listing below.

Muse, Will of the People Artwork + Track Listing

Warner Records
Warner Records

1. Will of the People
2. Compliance
3. Liberation
4. Won’t Stand Down
5. Ghosts (How Can I Move On)
6. You Make Me Feel Like It’s Halloween
7. Kill or Be Killed
8. Verona
9. Euphoria
10. We Are Fucking Fucked

Most Anticipated Rock + Metal Albums of 2022

What should be on your radar for 2022.